Graham and Hamer share Southern Power Best & Fairest

15th October, 2010

140 guests celebrated a premiership season for the Southern Power at their Awards Evening held at Kareela Golf and Sports Club last Saturday night, where Matt Graham and Phill Hamer were joint winners of the club’s Best and Fairest Player award. Following a tense vote count, during which centurion goal kicker, Al Fritsch led for most of the way, Graham and Hamer emerged joint victors, each polling 50 votes. In what crowned a memorable season season for Graham, the star mid-fielder also picked up the First Grade Player’s Player award, with Hamer again featuring in second place. In his first year up from the under 18’s, and despite a season plagued by injury, tall back-man Adam Cook certainly impressed in the top grade, taking out the Most Improved award. Other winners included the Coach’s award – Michael Findlay, Most Courageous – Leon Johnson, while Sanders Medallist, Liam Davis fittingly took out the Best 1st Year Player award.

The prestigious Club Man of the Year Award was shared by Senior Coach Simon Closter and outgoing Club President William Oakley for their tireless work throughout the season while the Club Woman of the Year Award was again awarded to Elise Cloney.

In Reserve Grade it was captain Joel Thomson who took out the Best and Fairest Award on 28 points, just one point ahead of Doug Showell. It was a great effort from Showell, who played just 5 Reserve Grade games for the year, and he capped this remarkable feat off by taking out the Players Player Award. Brendan Mott took out the Coaches Award for a great season while Marc Allouche was voted the Best 1st Year Player and Nick (Shannon Noll) Noonan the Most Improved.

Paul Love took out the 3rd Grade Best & Fairest from first year player Chris Turner with Turner also taking out the Players Player Award. Rod Bloomfield was awarded the Coaches Award, James Perrett the Best 1st Year Player and Jude Middlemiss the Most Improved.

After a successful first season at the club, the Southern Power women’s team Best and Fairest Trophy was a close affair with Christine Coles the winner just in front of Dominique Goom who also won the Best 1st Year Player. Jessica Purcell won the Most Improved Award while the Coaches Award went to Louise Glasgow and Rebekah Lucas was awarded the Team Player Award.

The Under 18’s Best and Fairest Award was won by Andrew Clarke with James Furci finishing runner up. Joel Smith took out the Coaches Award while Sam Bright was awarded Most Improved.

The presentation of the Division 2 Premiership Flag to Club Captain, Coach and President by Peter and Gail Couvaras from major partner Battery World – Taren Point, topped off a fantastic night of entertainment which is sure to leave many counting the days until the first bounce of the 2011 Premiership season.

A big thankyou to all those that made the night the HUGE success it was and a special thanks to the MC for the evening Simon Davies who did a sterling job and whose videos were superb… Stay tuned for the 2011 Southern Power AFC promotional video coming soon…

Comments are closed.