MG claims Club Best & Fairest Award

21st October, 2011

Southern Power celebrated one of their most successful seasons on and off the field ever last week at a gala awards dinner at Kareela Golf Club attended by 150 players, sponsors and guests.

The Power not only toasted the club’s Division 5 premiership and good results by their other four sides, there was a toast to the successful lodgement of the development application for new facilities at Waratah Oval which will see the Power move to the Premier Division-quality facilities by 2013.

In the clubs first ever season in Division One, the Power’s top side stepped up and made the Grand Final and it was no surprise to learn that one of the Power’s most consistent in that game, Matt Graham, was awarded the club best and fairest award over the course of the season. MG, now a veteran among the very young Power side, stepped up to the higher level admirably showing the leadership and ability that earned him the club best and fairest award. The award was MG’s second best and fairest in a row after sharing the trophy with Phil Hamer in 2010.

Club favourite Graham Enright finished runner up in the best and fairest and was voted player’s player while towering backman Adam Cook was awarded the Most Courageous.

In Division 3, Trent Alexander and Andrew Cluff shared the player’s while Alexander won the best and fairest while in Division 5, Daniel Stanton took the player’s player, best and fairest double.

Maddis Bishop was a runaway winner in the Under 18s best and fairest count while in the women’s Louise Glasgow took out the best and fairest and Jenna Miller shared the player’s player with Amy Kowski.

In recognition of decades of service to AFL in the Sutherland Shire, the Power has renamed their volunteer awards the Brian Cloney Clubman of the Year award and Lorraine Cloney Clubwoman of the Year award. The men’s winner was Andrew Cluff who lived and breathed the Power spirit every week turning up early to training and game days, helping to run water or boundary at the drop of a hat. The women’s award went to Bek Lukas who has been the heart of successful women’s AFL in Sydney’s South for years. Bek, along with running her own business and being a mother of three commits a lot of her spare time to the Power.

For his tireless work around the club and managing the women’s team, Dave Bell was named Volunteer of the Year.

All the award winners:

Division 1 Awards

  • B&F – Matt Graham
  • Runner Up – Graham Enright
  • Players Player – Graham Enright
  • Coaches Award – Mitchell New
  • Most Improved – James Clarke

Division 3 Awards

  • B&F – Trent Alexander
  • Runner Up – Marc Allouche
  • Players Player – Trent Alexander and Andrew Cluff
  • Best 1st Year – Andrew Wardrop
  • Most Improved – Todd Fortescue
  • Coaches Award – Andrew Cluff
  • Best Positional Player – Jon Butcher

Division 5 Awards

  • B&F – Daniel Stanton
  • Runner Up – Trent Alexander
  • Players Player – Daniel Stanton
  • Best 1st year – John Wakeman
  • Most Improved – Craig Gear
  • Coaches Award – Bart Sheedy
  • Most Consistent – Dylan Andrews

Under 18’s Awards

  • B&F – Maddis Bishop
  • Runner Ups – Matthew Young and Toby Hooker
  • Coaches Award – Matt Kingham
  • Most Improved – Jackson Buckley
  • Best 1st Year – Tim Cashman

Women’s Awards

  • B&F – Louise Glasgow
  • Runner Up – Dominique Goom
  • Players Player – Amy Kowski and Jenna Miller
  • Coaches Award – Kathryn Hull
  • Best 1st year – Rebecca Smith
  • Team Spirit Award – Lisa Rose

Club Awards

  • Brian Cloney Clubman of the Year – Andrew Cluff
  • Lorraine Cloney Clubwoman of the Year – Rebekah Lucas
  • Most Courageous – Adam Cook
  • Volunteer of the Year – Dave Bell

Comments are closed.