2013 Award Winners and Presentation Night Recap

12th December, 2013

It was a year of both individual and team achievements for Southern Power AFC in 2013. To celebrate the year that was, the club hosted a black-tie dinner event at the Gymea Tradies club.

The firsts had an outstanding year. After earning promotion to Division One in 2011, they have appeared in three grand finals. This year the boys took the final step comprehensively defeating Uni of NSW to take home the flag. Now, they are well and truly knocking on the door of a Premier Division position. There were 4 players in 2013 selected for the AFL Sydney Development Squad and Best & Fairest and Players Player award recipient, Stuart Brierty was also honoured this season being named the Snow Medallist at the Sydney AFL Phelan Medal awards evening.

Div 1 award winners –
Best & Fairest: Stuart Brierty
Runner Up, Best & Fairest: Daniel Turner
Rising Star: Reagan Sharpe
Coach’s Award: Liam Aggett
Players Player: Stuart Brierty

The women’s team had an impressive season making their way into the inaugural Div Two Women’s Grand Final, coming runners up to Mac Uni. The women had 11 players nominated in the Sydney AFL Women’s Team of the Year and 3 players recognised with representative honours.

Women’s Div 2 award winners –
Best & Fairest: Dominique Goom
Runner Up, Best & Fairest: Jenna Miller
Most Improved: Brittany Day
Best First Year Player: Clare O’Brien
Coach’s Award: Danielle Dunajcik
Players Player: Dominique Goom

It was not an easy season for the senior teams with injuries and players away. Credit goes to the players in our Div 3, Div 5 and U18s teams, who were often asked to play up or even double up throughout the year.

Div 3 award winners –
Best & Fairest: Paul Johnson
Runner Up, Best & Fairest: Ryan King-Thornburg
Most Improved: Matt Young
Best First Year Player: Tim Cashman
Coach’s Award: Jeff O’Sullivan
Players Player: Matt Young & Leigh Hogan

Div 5 award winners –
Best & Fairest: Andrew Bell
Runner Up, Best & Fairest: Rhys Vance
Most Improved: Luke Mahoney
Best First Year Player: Steve Waugh
Coach’s Award: Chris Williams & Tom Potter

The U18s were always in for a tough year following their promotion to Div 1, but Coach Abe kept their chins up and the players focussed on this being ‘a very long pre-season for 2014’, an opportunity to develop and learn through playing some very tough competition. The team will continue to build and grow with the adoption of an U19 competition next year.

U18s Div 1 award winners –
Best & Fairest: Liam Hamling
Runner Up, Best & Fairest: Andrew Denoon
Most Improved: Jimmy Stephanou
Best First Year Player: Josh McKeon
Coach’s Award: Josh Miller
Players Player: Liam Hamling

The club also announced some overall individual awards including a new award this season, the President’s Award going to an individual who contributes to the atmosphere and passion of the club, Russell Penton. Congratulations also goes to:

Lorraine Cloney Club Woman of the Year: Lauren Hodgson
Brian Cloney Club Man of the Year: Jason Dunbar
Most Courageous: Brendan Kenny
Leading Goal Kicker: Jared Wilson (29)

Mention was also made of some outstanding individuals (Kathryn Hull and Russell Penton for AFL Sydney Volunteer of the Year) who were recognised by Sydney AFL. Southern Power had an impressive total of 14 players/officials nominated for individual awards and selection in their respective Teams of the Year. Particular congratulations goes to the following award winners:

Snow Medalist, Division One Best & Fairest: Stuart Brierty
AFL Sydney Women’s Volunteer of the Year: Lauren Hodgson

To cap things off, fantastic individual efforts saw well deserved representative honours for the following players throughout the season:

  • Alex Tegg (Youth Girls Nationals, Female High Performance Academy incl. NZ Tour)
  • Jenna Miller (NSW Rep at the Women’s National Championships)
  • Kathryn Hull (NSW Rep at the Women’s National Championships)
  • Adam Cook (AFL Sydney Development Squad)
  • James Clark (AFL Sydney Development Squad)
  • Matt Young (AFL Sydney Development Squad)
  • Stu Brierty (AFL Sydney Development Squad)

With pre-season training now underway, Southern Power will build on the on- and off-field success of the past season with their sights firmly set on what is sure to be a cracking 2014 season.


Comments are closed.